List of Private Universities and Colleges in Malaysia

These are institutions owned by domestic or international corporations, including foreign campuses of overseas universities, such as the University of Nottingham, Malaysia and Monash University. Many private colleges and institutions partner with foreign universities to offer 'twinning programmes', which allow students to partially complete their degree overseas. Twinning qualifications are conferred by overseas partner institutions.

These institutions offer foundation, diploma, undergraduate degree and postgraduate degree programmes. Students will need to obtain SPM or other equivalent secondary/high school qualifications to gain entry into these institutions. 


Note: This list only covers private universities and university colleges in Malaysia. There are more than 470 private institutions in Malaysia.  Please refer to the Jabatan Pendidikan Tinggi website for the full list of universities and colleges.

No Institution Location
1 AIMST University Kedah
2 Albukhary International University Kedah
3 ALFA International College Selangor
4 Al-Madinah International University Selangor
5 Asia e University Kuala Lumpur
6 Asia Pacific University College of Technology and Innovation Kuala Lumpur
7 BERJAYA University College of Hospitality Kuala Lumpur
8 Binary University College of Management and Entrepreneurship Selangor
9 CITY University College of Science and Technology Selangor
10 Curtin University of Technology Sarawak
11 Cyberjaya University College of Medical Sciences Selangor
12 HELP University Kuala Lumpur
13 Industrial University of Selangor Selangor
14 Insaniah University College Kedah
15 International Medical University Kuala Lumpur
16 International University College Of Nursing Selangor
17 International University College Of Technology Twintech Kuala Lumpur; Selangor
18 INTI Laurette International University Negeri Sembilan
19 KDU University College Selangor
20 Kuala Lumpur Infrastructure University College Selangor
21 Kuala Lumpur Metropolitan University College Kuala Lumpur
22 Limkokwing University of Creative Technology Selangor
23 Linton University College Negeri Sembilan
24 Malaysia Theological Seminary Negeri Sembilan
25 Malaysia University of Science and Technology Selangor
26 Management and Science University Selangor
27 Masterskill University College of Health Sciences Selangor
28 Monash University Selangor
29 Multimedia University Melaka; Selangor
30 Nilai University College Negeri Sembilan
31 Open University Malaysia Kuala Lumpur
32 Petronas University of Technology Perak
33 SEGi University College Selangor
34 Selangor International Islamic University College Selangor
35 Sunway University Selangor
36 Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak
37 TATI University College Terengganu
38 Taylor's University Selangor
39 Tenaga Nasional University Putrajaya; Selangor
40 Tun Abdul Razak University Selangor
41 Tunku Abdul Rahman University Kuala Lumpur
42 UCSI University Kuala Lumpur
43 University of Kuala Lumpur Kuala Lumpur
44 University of Nottingham Selangor
45 Wawasan Open University Pulau Pinang

Source: Jabatan Pengajian Tinggi, Malaysia.